SUSHISAMBA takes pride in our tri-cultural coalition of countries: Japan, Brazil and Peru. These countries also inspire our design perspective every day, influencing the colors, flora and fauna, interior design, furnishings, and art of every SUSHISAMBA location, from Miami to Las Vegas to London and Amsterdam.

When Japanese architect Arata Isozaki won the highest honor in architecture, the 2019 Pritzker (think the Nobel prize for Architecture), we weren’t surprised. With his bold use of geometric forms, his career is truly groundbreaking.

Isozaki’s win got us thinking about other winners within Japan, Brazil and Peru…while Peru doesn’t boast any Pritzker winners, Japan has a total of eight and Brazil counts two.  Here’s a quick primer on each of these trailblazers…


Kenzō Tange, 1987 Pritzker winner Japan

Designer of the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, Tange designed major buildings on five continents. His architectural style combined traditional Japanese styles with modernism.

Oscar Niemeyer, 1988 Pritzker winner Brazil

A key global figure in the development of modern architecture, including Brasilia’s civic buildings and the U.N, Niemeyer’s signature free-flowing, sensual curves are the inspiration behind much of SUSHISAMBA’s design, including the graffiti “ribbons” in our Las Vegas locale.

Fumihiko Maki, 1993 Pritzker winner – Japan

At age 90, Maki is still going strong – most recently developing an educational center in London for the Aga Khan University. He is known for his ability to fuse eastern and western cultures using new materials. The Tokyo Metropolitan Gymnasium is a great example of one of his more grand projects.

Tadao Ando, 1995 Pritzker Prize winner – Japan

This self-taught architect puts simplicity at the core of his designs, with empty space as important as built. While most of his work is located throughout Japan, if you are states-side, you can visit his Modern Art Museum in Ft. Worth.

Paulo Mendes da Rocha, 2006 Pritzker Prize winner  Brazil

With his heavy use of concrete, much of Mendes da Rocha’s work falls under the methodology of “Brazilian Brutalism.” His cultural building work is credited with the revitalization and enhancement of São Paulo.

Kazuyo Sejima and Ryue Nishizawa, 2010 Pritzker Prize winner Japan 

Sejima, a woman and Nishizawa, a man, lead SANNA, a multiple award-winning architectural firm based in Tokyo. Londoners may be familiar with their Serpentine Pavilion, a temporary exhibition that premiered in 2009..

Toyo Ito, 2013 Pritzker Prize winner – Japan 

Known for his innovative approach to conceptual architecture that toggles both virtual and physical worlds. His Tower of Winds showcases his signature use of opacity and focus on technology.

Shigeru Ban, 2014 Pritzker Prize winner – Japan 

An innovator in the field of architecture and design, Ban often uses paper as his medium of choic. His recycled cardboard tubes were used to efficiently house disaster victims after the 1995 Kobe 7.2 earthquake.